Seattle Photographer Daniel Berman | Seattle editorial photographer | (206) 387-3767 daniel@bermanphotos.com

Nick Kaiser for Financial Advisor Magazine

Nick Kaiser - Saturna Capital - Bellingham

Nick Kaiser of Saturna Capital poses for a portrait at their downtown Bellingham offices October 24, 2011. Photo by Daniel Berman/www.bermanphotos.com for Financial Advisor Magazine

The chance to work a few blocks from my home is a pretty rare opportunity. For the most part, I am schlepping my lights and lenses across the Northwest — so to have an assignment so close in downtown Bellingham was a real treat.

My assignment was to photograph Saturna Capital’s Nick Kaiser for Financial Advisor Magazine. Saturna Capital has become renowned for their Amana Mutual Funds, which invests according to Islamamic law — and has done very well from their unassuming offices.

Nick Kaiser - Saturna Capital - Bellingham

Nick Kaiser of Saturna Capital poses for a portrait at their downtown Bellingham offices October 24, 2011. Photo by Daniel Berman/www.bermanphotos.com for Financial Advisor Magazine

Click the link to view

As the founder, director and chairman of Saturna, Nick Kaiser is a powerful force in the community and I sought to make portraits that showed that influential touch. It was a bright and beautiful day in Bellingham conducive to outdoor portraits, something my editor requested, and something I love to do whenever possible.

I set up two Alien Bee strobes, using a large Photek Softlighter II as my mainlight and a bare reflector for a rimlight. I used the rimlight as a fill on the black background image. I wanted to make the portraits as simple as possible, so I used an 80-200 2.8 lens to compress and clean-up the background in several.

Nick Kaiser - Saturna Capital - Bellingham

Nick Kaiser of Saturna Capital poses for a portrait at their downtown Bellingham offices October 24, 2011. Photo by Daniel Berman/www.bermanphotos.com for Financial Advisor Magazine

While I moved around and tried various vantage points and lenses, Nick and I chatted about his affinity for sailing and how Bellingham has changed over the years. He was a good subject and giving with his time. What more can an editorial photographer asked for?

Nick Kaiser - Bellingham - Saturna Capital

Nick Kaiser - Bellingham - Saturna Capital

Thanks for looking!

Daniel

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Nick was really generous with his time and worked with me to make some pictures the client and I were happy with. More from this shoot in my recent post: Nick Kaiser for Financial Advisor Magazine. […]


Leave a Reply

