Seattle Photographer Daniel Berman | Seattle editorial photographer | (206) 387-3767 daniel@bermanphotos.com

Seattle editorial photographer | 2009 Photos of the Year

When I was first starting out in photography, the late Phil Webber, a photographer of nearly fifty years at The Seattle PI, imparted some invaluable advice to me. He told me to always shoot pictures for myself, even if they might never see the light of day in print. He thought this was critical to growing as a shooter, and I heartily agree more than five years later.

Personal assignments like the Seahawks fans portraits, Bellingham ComicCon portraits, The Seattle Elvis Invitational, Bhangra Bash UW, and my work photographing Seattle Tent City 3 have kept my shooting fresh and inspired. Even without an end client, shoots I have done just for me have been some of the most fulfilling and satisfying ones all year. As a freelance photographer, I am always working hard to meet the needs of my clients. But the photos I like to make, or try to make, might not fit for their needs — so, I shoot for me. With that said, here is some of my favorite personal work: images that I made on assignment for me, or while shooting for my portfolio.

A woman looks out at the Vancouver, British Columbia waterfront.

 

Vancouver, British Columbia Stanley Beach waterfront.

Bhangra Bash at the University of Washington Saturday March 28, 2009.

Bhangra Bash at the University of Washington Saturday March 28, 2009.

Bhangra Bash at the University of Washington Saturday March 28, 2009.

A view of the industrial Seattle skyline during the FACE fashion show in Seattle Thursday April 30, 2009 at Herban Feast to raise money for Sunflower Children's fund.

A girl sits reading a book during summer quarter at Western Washington University

A girl watches a pickup basketball game at Green Lake in Seattle January 19, 2009.

Fishermen at Marina Beach in Edmonds at sunset July 31, 2009.

A man waits for the elevator on the Red Level inside the Seattle Central Library. The 11-story building opened in 2004, and was designed by Rem Koolhaas.

A tourist poses for a picture in the entrance to an Ocean Shores, WA souvenier shop.

Riding horses on the beaches of the Pacific Ocean in Ocean Shores, WA

A field in Ellensburg, WA at dusk.

Two Western students walk past the AIC October 21, 2009. The rain was off and on all day during a soggy week.

Squalicum HS mascot hangs out on the sidelines

An overhead view of the Lynden HS cheerleaders, who wore ponchos when rainy conditions persisted in their game against Squalicum HS.

Lynden HS Lions defeats the Squalicum HS Wolves 14-7 to reach the quarterfinals of the WIAA playoffs November 14, 2009 at Bellingham Civic Field in Bellingham, WA.

A crowd gathers to watch members of the Strongman Club at WWU compete in a weightlifting competition Saturday November 21, 2009.

Struggling to deadlift in the final round of the WWU Strongman Club weightlifting competition Saturday November 21, 2009 at the Wade King Recreational Center.

A member of the WWU Strongman Club chalks his hands before competing in the weightlifting competition.

Thanks for looking!

Daniel

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. david said, on January 3, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    great photos Daniel. I love those two of WWU, they really capture the feel of the campus even though you can’t see much of it in frame.

  2. printsbyeugene said, on January 3, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    This is a great compilation!

    The man on the Red Level is like a shot from Mars!

    I really like the “Fishermen at Marina Beach” image. Great framing there, with the sun at center.

    The only one image which I think doesn’t belong in this set is the Stanley Beach waterfront shot. It seems more like a snapshot to me, but perhaps something about the scene has moved you?


Leave a Reply

