Seattle Photographer Daniel Berman | Seattle editorial photographer | (206) 387-3767 daniel@bermanphotos.com

Tattooed: Students and their ink

Posted in assignment work by bermanphotos on February 12, 2009

So yesterday I completed the 2nd day of shooting in my portrait series of tattooed students for my college paper.

This time, I was in the school’s studio, with the help of my photo editor and assistant-for-the-day Macy Wood. We set up on the black seamless with the same 3 light setup as before: all Nikon speedlights, fired with Pocket Wizards. My main light was a small softbox and I also had a flagged hair light, and a snooted flash off to the side which I varied using as an extra rim light or to highlight part of a tattoo.

These subjects were great and so into the shoot which made it a real blast.

berman_2-11-09_02601

berman_2-11-09_02401

berman_2-11-09_01481

berman_2-11-09_02101

berman_2-11-09_01972

berman_2-11-09_02951

berman_2-11-09_03411

berman_tattoo_benjamin-brandon2-fullres1

I am happy with these, and hopefully I will be able to continue it soon enough next week.

Thanks for looking!

Daniel

Leave a Reply

