Seattle Photographer Daniel Berman | Seattle editorial photographer | (206) 387-3767 daniel@bermanphotos.com

It’s Cold Outside…

Posted in news, personal work, Washington by bermanphotos on December 19, 2008

Today was a day made for shooting, and by that, I mean I took advantage of the heavy snowing conditions in Shoreline to make a few pictures. I wandered around my neighborhood in a different direction from yesterday, and found myself near an elementary school. I knew the school had a great playground on it and I thought maybe kids would be playing. I was right.

I found these kids playing with the snow and the play structures — having a good time.

One of the first things I noticed was one of the three kids going headfirst down a snow-covered slide.

berman_12-18-08_selects_063

Soon after, the kid’s friends walked over and started pushing snow into his face. I love the look on the sliding kid’s face.

berman_12-18-08_selects_065

Photos can almost always be improved by cropping tighter, or being closer. So since this is a nice picture to start with, I zoomed closer with which improved the background by eliminating distractions (always beneficial), and the moment is more clear and dramatic. In newspaper speak, it “reads better.”

berman_12-18-08_selects_069

With the snow blowing in my face, I thought of a nicer place to be taking pictures, like Southern California. And as I thought about palm trees, warm breezes, and sand instead of snow, I also thought back to something I learned last March at the SportsShooter.com workshop out there: always look behind you. So I turned around and I saw one of the kid’s mom standing outside, shivering, and trying to stay warm underneath the covered basketball court. I like it.

berman_12-18-08_selects_075

After photographing her I walked back over to the playground where I did a double-take as I noticed one of the kid’s reinacting ‘A Christmas Story’ — putting his tongue to the metal playground structure, and eating snow. His poor tongue.

berman_12-18-08_selects_057

I don’t think he minded though.

berman_12-18-08_selects_049

I got kidded out though and decided to head home. The weather was beginning to get worse and I had accidentally left my extra memory cards at home. I made some nice frames on the walk back though, including this one of a man trying to get through the windy snow swirling around in the air:

berman_12-18-08_selects_0841

I plan to head back out tomorrow and try for some more snow photos. Hopefully, I will make it to downtown Seattle for some unique shots of a city that seems to shut down at the mere threat of an inch of snow.

Thanks for looking — comments always welcome.

Daniel

Leave a Reply

