Seattle Photographer Daniel Berman | Seattle editorial photographer | (206) 387-3767 daniel@bermanphotos.com

Reflecting on a strong season

Posted in assignment work, portraits, sports by bermanphotos on November 13, 2008

I had an interesting shoot last Wednesday with the women’s soccer team over at Shoreline Community College.

The intermittent rain made me question if the shoot was going to work out, but luckily it held off for the entire duration. I waited around for the girl’s to finish their cooldown, and shot this image of the men’s game going on. It gave me an idea for later, but more on that in a bit.

soccerreflection

After SCC’s unfortunate 1-0 loss to Green River, the women’s defenders, still mud-soaked from their game, agreed to let me make their portrait. I set up 2 SB26 strobes, bare-bulb, one camera-left and high, and one far-right, aiming back at the womens’ faces. I like the drama those rain clouds add, as well as the muddy clothes. Tough ladies who clearly mean business.

The first shot I wanted to accomplish was a kind of CMA shot, just some basic stuff. I asked the girls to act serious for a frame, and this was more difficult than I would have imagined.

blogsoccer1

Luckily they held their laughs for about three frames, before they just couldn’t take it anymore:

blogsoccer2

It was around this time that I thought about trying to work the neat puddle onto the ground into something more. I re-aimed my flashes towards the girl’s faces, and tried to shoot just the team reflected in the puddle. I like how this one looks, but it might have been neat to hand the center girl Brittany my camera, and use a remote to trigger it — that way I could have shot this image “right-side up”. There is always next time….

blogsoccer3

Thanks for looking everyone. Comments always appreciated.

Daniel

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. justinhenning said, on November 14, 2008 at 1:52 am

    Hey Dan,

    I really enjoy the last photo. Interesting angle and very interesting idea–damn twiggs sort of block the faces a bit though. Also, the laughing shot is a good moment with good expression out of them all.

    Anyways man, hope all is well and that the photo business is treating ya well.


Leave a Reply

